Upcoming Events

Fri Oct 02

US One Act Performance

Rosenberg Theater
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sat Oct 03

US One Act Performance

Rosenberg Theater
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sun Oct 04

US One Act Performance

Rosenberg Theater
2:30 PM - 4:30 PM

US One Act Performance

Rosenberg Theater
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Wed Oct 21

Independent School Choral Festival Concert

National Cathedral
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sun Nov 01

Apollo Orchestra Performance

Robert L. Smith Meeting Room
3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Fri Nov 13

MS Fall Play

MS Drama Studio
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Sat Nov 14

MS Fall Play

MS Drama Studio
2:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Fri Nov 20

US Fall Play Performance

Caplin Theater
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sat Nov 21

US Fall Play Performance

Caplin Theater
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sun Nov 22

US Fall Play Performance

Caplin Theater
2:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wed Dec 09

MS 7/8 Chorus & Orchestra Winter Concert

Caplin Theater
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Fri Dec 11

US Art Show & Reception

Rubenstein Gallery
5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

US Instrumental Winter Concert

Robert L. Smith Meeting Room
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Sun Dec 13

US Winter Choral Concert

Robert L. Smith Meeting Room
2:30 PM - 4:30 PM
iCal

The Arts at Sidwell Friends School

The Arts program at Sidwell Friends reflects our conviction that all our students have within them the light of creativity and can learn much of value from their own and others’ creative work. The program encourages students to discover, develop, and express their own creative impulses and talents and to celebrate the fundamental place of the Arts in human life. Through courses in visual and performance arts and opportunities to share their efforts with the wider community, students discern the historical, cultural, and social context and meaning of the Arts as they learn the importance of process as well as product. They learn to take risks, to grow from failure, and to strive for excellence. They encounter the power of creative energy and personal discipline through both individual work and commitment to an ensemble. Through these experiences, they come to understand more about Art as an expression of the Quaker belief that "there is that of God in every person."