Upcoming Events

Thu Feb 02

Dance Ensemble Performance

Mary Ellen Caplin Theater, Arts Center Lobby
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Join us for the dance ensemble performance and reception afterward

Fri Feb 10

BSU Show

Caplin Theater & Arts Center Lobby
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sat Mar 04

HS Invitational Jazz Festival

Georgetown Day School - 4200 Davenport St, NW - Washington DC 20016
12:00 PM - 5:30 PM

This is the 19th Annual High School Jazz Fest @ GDS.

Jazz Fest is a collaborative, non-competitive, jazz education project sponsored by Georgetown Day, Sidwell Friends, & Edmund Burke. Admission is Free.

Located at Georgetown Day School - 4200 Davenport St. NW, Wash, DC 20016

Sun Mar 05

Apollo Orchestra Concert

Robert L. Smith Meeting Room
3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Fri Mar 17

US Musical - Performance

Mary Ellen Caplin Theater
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sat Mar 18

US Musical - Performance

Mary Ellen Caplin Theater
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sun Mar 19

US Musical - Performance

Mary Ellen Caplin Theater
2:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wed Apr 05

US Small Vocal Ensembles Night

Robert L. Smith Meeting Room
8:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Fri Apr 21

MS Spring Musical

Mary Ellen Caplin Theater
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Singing in the Rain, Jr.

Sat Apr 22

MS Spring Musical

Mary Ellen Caplin Theater
1:00 PM

Singing in the Rain, Jr.

Fri Apr 28

US Spring Choral Concert

Robert L. Smith Meeting Room
7:30 PM
Sun Apr 30

US Instrumental Music Concert - Spring

US Courtyard & RLS Meeting Room
2:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Fri May 19

US Art Show and Reception

Daryl Reich Rubenstein Gallery, Arts center
5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

US Play Performance

Mary Ellen Caplin Theater
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sat May 20

US Play Performance

Mary Ellen Caplin Theater
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
iCal

The Arts at Sidwell Friends School

The Arts program at Sidwell Friends reflects our conviction that all our students have within them the light of creativity and can learn much of value from their own and others’ creative work. The program encourages students to discover, develop, and express their own creative impulses and talents and to celebrate the fundamental place of the Arts in human life. Through courses in visual and performance arts and opportunities to share their efforts with the wider community, students discern the historical, cultural, and social context and meaning of the Arts as they learn the importance of process as well as product. They learn to take risks, to grow from failure, and to strive for excellence. They encounter the power of creative energy and personal discipline through both individual work and commitment to an ensemble. Through these experiences, they come to understand more about Art as an expression of the Quaker belief that "there is that of God in every person."